Repeating History


I am not scarred by it, but I do remember it clearly, as does my mother. I was about 5 and this Hong Kong actor was down near the entrance of our apartment building with his agents standing on a platform promoting his latest movie. They were giving away signed records, but you had to go up on stage and sing a few notes of the theme song. My mother volunteered me and I got up on stage and quivered – no, my whole body was shaking. They took pity on me and gave me the record.

I did it to my son today. He’s almost 3, but I didn’t really do it to him. Mr. Ray was inviting kids onto the stage to sing with him. I asked him if he wanted to go up and he said, “yes.” He said he would sing “Baa Baa Black Sheep.” So I told him to raise his hand and I found my hand holding his up. I am my mom. He went up to the stage and told Mr. Ray his name and age. Started to sing, but because there was some microphone adjustment, he just stopped singing. It was cute anyway. I sure hope he doesn’t get traumatized.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

