Couldn’t ask for a better beach day!


I am so excited for my kids. They have such a great group of friends! I’ve always wished I had a group of friends to hang out with (like “Friends” the show). Well, now I do, but my kids will have that growing up. You see, during grade school, my brother and I used to hang out with this pair of sisters who lived on the 3rd floor of the apartment building I lived in. My mother would bring us to parks or we would just hang out in the common courtyard. We would walk around the brick walls and pretend we were on ships; we would play with our fake cabbage patch kids and Barbies; and we went to each other’s apartments for more play. We even played when we did laundry on the 4th floor; we would just walk downstairs to their apartment and ask them to come out to play. Then we sort of grew up and became distant. Our mothers still see each other in passing, but I haven’t seen them in more than a decade. Actually, I should look them up on Facebook. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always had a lot of friends, but was never a part of a group. My mother-in-law has a group of ladies she’s been friends with for a long time, and they get together frequently. I’ve always wondered if I would have that experience. Now, I think I will. You know who you are. And with the tight-knit school system that we have in our Town, I’m sure my kids will, too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

  1. I had the same type of thing growing up. We were always playing with the neighborhood kids. It was so fun! We went to our daughter’s concert at Hurlbutt last night and barely saw anyone we knew. I felt sad that I’ve been here two years and didn’t have anyone to talk to at the event. I’m hoping you and I find that group we’re looking for!

Leave a Reply

