Thankful Tuesday


If you’ve read my driving stories and wondered why I make such a big deal about minor things, it’s because I was involved in 2 accidents in one year. Of course, now I have to get a job to pay for the insurance. I also need to be even more hypervigilant. I’m not sure if I’m afraid of driving or of being in another accident. Actually, I enjoy driving when there are no other cars on the road. Once I see someone behind me, my pulse increases exponentially, especially if it tailgates me. What if I stop short? I did do that one time and I saw the guy behind me swerve to the right to avoid hitting me. I try to avoid left turns through traffic if possible, unless there is a turning light. Anyway, I’m thankful today because I drove to a new store in Norwalk; I went so that I had to make a right turn. Unfortunately, I turned a driveway too late and ended up in a parking lot to nothing. I decided to just stay and walk over to the store instead of trying to make a left turn and then another to get into the correct driveway via a very busy road. After that, I drove into the left lane to make a left turn at the light (yay!) and returned to the stomping ground of the second accident. I made it in, parked far from civilization (recommended by experts to avoid accidents), and walked to the store. Since I didn’t have to back out of my space when I was leaving, I just had to make sure I didn’t hit someone head-on coming out. Well, people aren’t necessarily watching out for you. In any case, it was fine. I wonder how long it will take before I feel better about driving? It also doesn’t help when you’re told to be careful. Sort of like being jinxed, but we did it. Yes, I still say, “we did it!” after we’ve parked somewhere successfully. Yesterday, I went on the Merritt to go to a friend’s house. Even though it’s only 1 exit, it feels like forever. Highway driving doesn’t bother me that much, but when the road is narrower because of the median on the right lane, I. freak. out. I find that if I continue to breathe and just keep driving, it’s ok. Whew!

Leave a Reply

