Recipe: Easy Butternut Squash Chowder


It’s raining, it’s pouring, it’s great weather for chowder! I got cubed butternut squash from Stop and Shop and it had a recipe for chowder. I LOVE butternut squash soup in any form, so I decided to try making it, but without the milk.

What I Used:

  • 1 package cubed butternut squash
  • 1/4 cup mild onion (chopped)
  • 16 oz can chicken broth
  • 16 oz can of cream corn
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • [2 cups milk]

How I Made It:

  1. Bring 1 quart water to a boil and then add the squash. Cover and cool until tender.
  2. Drain and puree squash.
  3. Add all ingredients and bring to a boil. Boil for 5 minutes.
  4. [If adding milk, lower temperature first. Boil for 10 minutes after addition.]

My comments: Kids didn’t like it. Husband thought it was too chunky. True, the corn doesn’t help that and my mini food processor didn’t get all the cubes, but I LOVED it. Next time I’ll add ginger.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

