Mommy Brain – Will I ever be the same?


It doesn’t help that I was absent-minded to begin with. I noticed “mommy brain” kicking in during my first pregnancy when it took longer to complete sentences in my second trimester. I seemed to always be grasping for the simplest of words. Then the memory started giving me a hard time. I had even more trouble finding keys. After delivering Mads, the most forgetful thing I did was leave a load of laundry in the washer for at least 3 weeks. I didn’t realize it until my husband asked me where one of his shirts was. I actually blamed it on the laundromat that we occasionally used. Of course, it wasn’t there. Then it hit me that I was missing my own clothes. So I asked the porter, who didn’t really speak or understand much English, with the help of a neighbor (she actually remembered the load), and a bag of clothes magically appeared. Crazy, huh? I think that had to do with sleep deprivation, too.

Well, I don’t think I noticed “mommy brain” as much with the second pregnancy, or maybe I just adjusted better by plunging full force into work. I was on a lot more committees and even chaired one. I took on extra work for extra money. I was even a course coordinator during the last half of the pregnancy. In fact, I entered course grades until 8:00 pm the night before a 6:30 appointment for a C-section. I felt that good. Then I stopped working altogether and there was minimal intellectual brain stimulation. When I started blogging again, got on facebook, and started tweeting, it was a challenge to me. I got to wear different hats and write in different voices. The best was twitter since I had to express my thoughts in 140 characters. A few of my fb friends complained that I was on fb too much. My blogging took away time from housework sometimes, but through writing, I started to find my old brain again. I started feeling more comfortable multi-tasking (wow, shuffling the kids back and forth to various activities and parties is not easy) and more things are getting done. I was told I need to manage my time better, but I don’t really think that’s the problem. I think I’m burnt out from having to do as many things that I have to do singlehandedly. I know one day I’ll get all of my brain power back. And if I pass the exam that I took today (even by 1 point), then that will be the greatest confidence booster.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

