Of rice and beef


My husband thought that I could use up a giant jug of basmati brown rice from Costco. Well, it’s been transferred from our old home to our current one. I finally decided to try making it again since the kids like basmati rice from the Indian restaurants. Only one problem, I’m not accustomed to making rice on the stovetop. I rely on Sally, the Rice Cooker. I actually asked my twitter buddies if anyone had ever tried making basmati rice in a rice cooker and got a few responses. So, I soaked a cup of rice for 30 minutes and set it up to cook. It came out ok, but I probably used too much water. It was fine with the braised beef. For future reference, use 1 cup of water for each cup of rice. I hope that makes the rice look long and thin like the ones in the restaurant.

Leave a Reply

